University of Alaska president sets retirement date

bimmc9iw8ra1f0ijv4xl1c2nqqwq2h0University of Alaska President Patrick K. Gamble informed the Board of Regents on Friday that he plans to retire June 1, 2015. Gamble was appointed president, following a national search, on June 1, 2010.

Under Gamble’s leadership, the university developed Shaping Alaska’s Future, an initiative to ensure UA is serving the learning, research, economic, social and cultural needs of Alaska and Alaskans. UA is seeing positive results in a number of key areas, including improved graduation rates, more degrees and certificates awarded, and increased degrees in high demand areas like engineering, health disciplines and teacher education.

“We are up and running in moving the University of Alaska forward on a path that builds on excellence and enhances its sustainability,” Gamble noted. “We have a solid team of strong leaders — the chancellors, provosts, and other system executives, as well as highly engaged faculty and staff — who are working together and coming up with innovative ways to advance the university.”

Board of Regents Chair Jo Heckman said, “President Gamble has been the right leader to guide the university through a period of rapid change in the higher education landscape. While it is hard to see him leave, the work he’s done makes the University of Alaska highly attractive to potential candidates for the position.”

The Board of Regents will discuss the process for filling the president’s position at a scheduled board retreat in January.

“President Gamble’s commitment to the university and its students is a deep and genuine one,” Heckman said. “It capstones a lifetime of serving our country and our state. He deserves the time that retirement will allow to enjoy family and explore personal interests.”

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Carla Beam, vice president of university relations,, 907-786-1359.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>